Home » Take a Stitch Tuesday » Saturday, 9 February 2013

Saturday, 9 February 2013

Another week has gone by, already. I tried cleaning my old camera, but the focusy thinkkey just doesn’t do its thingkey. So I had to get a new one. The old one (Sony) was purchased in 2003, so 10 years and with trips to France, Alaska, Ohio, Maryland, and Pennsylvania, its had a good life. The new one is a Canon and it was about $75.00. BUT, I had to go out a buy a memory card ($67.00) to go with it.

And now onto this week’s stitch. Stitch 51 – Raised Herringbone Band.

When I started thinking about this stitch, I thought about the satin stitch (first layer). I liked how to flowed across the material. And thought – what if I emphasized not the color, but the texture. What would happen if by using black and a grey, could I emphasize the texture? So, I stitch five stitches, then using the grey, turn the stitch 90 degrees and stitch 5 more stitches. By alternating back and forth, I think it looked a little dimensional. The bottom one, I was trying for a stain glass look with just using random colors and stitch lengths on the first layer.

The second and third layer became a little bit of a problem because I didn’t know what color to use. The bottom one, I was trying to continue the stain glass idea. And the top one, I guess I went with a fragile feeling type thread, since the black and grey like so strong.

Anyways, I kind of like what turned out, but I would use linen instead of aida next time.

IMG_0002

IMG_0003

IMG_0004

http://pintangle.com/2013/02/05/take-a-stitch-tuesday-51-raised-herringbone-band/#comment-64490

4 thoughts on “Saturday, 9 February 2013

  1. Haha, I love your text about the girls’ learning in the 1700’s – I love the old ages and am reading a lot about – but enjoying the very new ages, too, because of internet and the like.

Leave a Reply

